Early Years Programme

In Early Years we follow a UK based framework called Early Years Foundation Stage Framework (EYFS).

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) Framework is a document for early years educators and professionals, to help them support children’s learning and development.

It sets out:

  • The 7 areas of learning and development which guide professionals’ engagement with your child’s play and activities as they learn new skills and knowledge
  • Assessments that will inform teachers about your child’s progress through the EYFS
  • Expected levels that your child should reach at age 5, usually the end of Early Years; these expectations are called the “Early Learning Goals (ELGs)”
  • The EYFS is divided into two areas.

Prime areas:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development

The Specific Areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

Learning through play

The EYFS curriculum has been designed so that children learn through play. Children will engage in practical activities and games throughout their time in Early Years.

They will be given the opportunity to learn through teacher led activities and self-discovery. Children will complete tasks in groups, pairs and independently.